There are changes coming into force this Sunday at 04:00 BST, one of which being passengers from arriving from France to the England, Scotland & Northern Ireland will no longer need to self-isolate for ten days.

The green list, which has no quarantine restrictions for returning passenger, is being expanded and will now include:

  • Germany
  • Norway
  • Slovenia
  • Austria
  • Romania
  • Bulgaria
  • Slovakia
  • Malta
  • Croatia (green watchlist – could be moved to amber)

Four countries are set to move from the red list to amber, these are India, UAE, Qatar and Bahrain.

There are some countries moving over to the red list, these are La Reunion, Mayotte, Mexico and Georgia.

If you are planning to travel, make sure you check each countries rules when it comes to Covid as they can vary between destinations. Before you return to the UK, you will also need to take a PCR or lateral flow/antigen test and will need to show the negative result before boarding. You can’t take the free NHS tests with you; you will need to purchase ones which are of the right quality.

For some of the green and amber listed countries, a further PCR test is required after arrival in the UK, which must be booked before you leave.

Which countries are Green/Amber/Red?

The government has all this information listed on their website and if you are travelling we recommend you keep up to date with any changes.

Green List:
Amber List:
Red List:

If you are travelling abroad, make sure you have the correct level of insurance for your stay. We can provide you with an online quote.

Safe travels!